Flying Finn Future Star

Facebook Twitter Email Pinterest

The Project

Finland is a country famous for its successful rally drivers. It’s been like that for a long time, still is and hopefully will be well into the future. AKK Sports Oy, organizer of Neste Rally Finland, began a project in 2014 to find promising new drivers with the intention to speed up their progress towards an international career and world level status.

In 2020 there will be one Flying Finn Future Star Awards

1) After all the seven rounds of FRC, on driver will get a seat to Junior WRC (or same kind of series) for season 2021.

Springboard – Finnish Rally Championship

Judgement on who is viewed as the best young driver is based on success in the Finnish Rally Championship. AKK Sports acts as the series’ promoter with local clubs organizing individual events. Participants in Flying Finn Future Star contest must compete in class SM3 for cars with R1 or R2 FIA homologation.

This increasingly popular class is especially favoured by young drivers, because it keeps the costs at reasonable level. It also serves as a good springboard to an R5 or Super2000 car. Citroën, Ford, Peugeot and Skoda are represented in the class.

Selection process of 2020

Candidates must compete in SM3 class and be born on 1.1.1995 or later. The drivers holding top five positions in the points table after all seven rallies will be invited to participate in selection event.

An analysis of each candidate’s driving will be carried out based on his performances during the season. Furthermore, physical and psychological qualities will be tested, as well as prowess in dealing with PR and the media.

The winner will get a JWRC package for season 2021.

Finalists of 2020:
Lauri Joona
Sami Pajari
Jani Luhtaniemi

Flying Finn Future Star 2020: Lauri Joona

Lauri Joona

Lauri Joona

Born: 7th Dec 1996
Hometown: Sastamala
2013 the first rally, Orimattila Finland, Junior class, Ford Focus V1600
2016 & 2017 Finnish Cup Champion in his class
2019 Rally Finland, RC4, 3.
2019 Finnish Rally Championship, SM3 class, 2.
2020 Finnish Rally Championship, SM3 class, Finnish Champion

Previous winners of the competition

2019: Sami Pajari
2018: Henri Hokkala
2017: Emil Lindholm
2016: Juuso Nordgren
2015: Jari Huttunen
2014: Teemu Suninen

Official Partners


Score top 5

1. Emil Lindholm / Reeta Hämäläinen 119 points NHD (R5)
2. Mikko Heikkilä / Topi Luhtinen 106 points MäntsMK (R5)
3. Teemu Asunmaa / Marko Salminen 104 points Alavuden UA (R5)
4. Juha Salo / Mikko Markkula 76 points Karkkilan UA (R5)
5. Riku Tahko / Markus Soininen 53 points PoSUA (R5)

< See all >

Calendar 2021

1) 15.-16.1. Arctic Lapland Rally, Rovaniemi
2) 5.-6.3. SM O.K. Auto-ralli, Kouvola
3) 28.-29.5. SM Länsirannikon ralli, Varsinais-Suomi
4) 18.-19.6. SM Pohjanmaa Ralli, Seinäjoki
5) 13.-14.8. Top Building Ralli, Lahti
6) 25.-26.9. SM KokUA 60-v Juhlaralli, Kokkola

Social media