Facebook Twitter Email Pinterest

Tight battles in Lapua

21.02.2004 /

Sebastian Lindholm fastest in Lapua

Todays Finnish Rally Championship in Lapua was most exciting. Tight battles were run in all classes and there were both surprices and disappintments, as rallying is at its best!

The rally route was 214 km in total, and 94 km of that was special stages.

In class grA, over 2-litres Juuso Pykälistö (Toyota Corolla WRC) was very strong in the mornign. He took 10 seconds lead from the first stage on, as Sebastian Lindholm (Peugeot 206 WRC) had problems with clutch and Jouni Ampuja (Ford Focus WRC) spun in a junction.

Sebastian Lindholm hade even more troubles to come: - At the third stage I wasn't able to use the fourth gear at all and that went on during the fourth stage as well, told Lindholm.

Pykälistö did really well untill he went out at the fifth stage. - As I started brakeing the car just left to a wild spin and we were out, he told. He was suspecting that the brake disc split and the rear wheel jammed.

The battel of the victory was tight after Pykälistös retirement: Ampuja was only 5,3 seconds behind Lindholm before the last stage. Ampuja was faster on that one, but not enough: Lindholm won the rally with only 3,9 seconds.

Stage winners, class A, over 2-litres

SS 1, Juuso Pykälistö, Toyota Corolla WRC

SS 2, Juuso Pykälistö

SS 3, Jouni Ampuja, Ford Focus WRC

SS 4, Jouni Ampuja

SS 5, Sebastian Lindholm

SS 6, Jouni Ampuja

Leader: SS1-SS4: Juuso Pykälistö, SS5-SS6: Sebastian Lindholm

Finnish Championship standings

1. Jouni Ampuja, 30

2. Sebastian Lindholm, 25

3. Jarmo Mikkonen, 24,5

Jari Ketomaa won the gr N, over 2-litres class after a very interesting day with Jukka Ketomäki, who was driving on his "home ground". Ketomaa was faster after the six stages, but only with 1,1 seconds.

Class gr A, up to 2-litres winner was Janne Vähämiko with VW Golf Gti and gr N, up to 2-litres winner was Marko Nieminen with Honda Integra Type R.

Pisteet top 5

1. Teemu Asunmaa / Jani Salo 107.5 pistettä Alavuden UA (R5)
2. Emil Lindholm / Mikael Korhonen 95 pistettä NHD (R5)
3. Mikko Heikkilä / Henri Arpiainen 61 pistettä MäntsMK (R5)
4. Esa Ruotsalainen / Jukka Ruotsalainen 51 pistettä SaarUA (R5)
5. Juha Salo / Mikko Markkula 49.5 pistettä Karkkilan UA (R5)

< Katso kaikki >

Kalenteri 2021

1) 15.-16.1. Arctic Lapland Rally, Rovaniemi
2) 5.-6.2. SM O.K. Auto-ralli, Kouvola
3) 28.-29.5. SM Länsirannikon ralli, Varsinais-Suomi
4) 18.-19.6. SM Pohjanmaa Ralli, Seinäjoki
5) 4.-5.9. SM Ralli Oulu
6) 1.-2.10. Kokkolan UA 60-v SM Juhlaralli

SM-sarja sosiaalisessa mediassa