Facebook Twitter Email Pinterest


International motorsport and the rally machinery are undergoing a major period of change. New teams are joining in and new homologations are being developed. These changes are also reflected in our national Finnish Rally Championship series both in the new cars and new fuels that are now allowed, as well as in the needs to upgrade the aging equipment in Finland.

The Finnish Rally Championship is a premium Finnish motorsport series and it is also highly acclaimed internationally. In 2017 it includes seven events: three in the winter and four in the summer.

The traditional winter season opener is the Arctic Lapland Rally at the end of January, and after that there is SM Vaakuna-Ralli in Mikkeli in February and SM Itäralli in Joensuu in early March.

There are four rallies in the summer: first there is SM O.K. Auto-ralli in Kouvola in the mid-May and then we head to Seinäjoki and Pohjanmaa Ralli for the fifth round of the season in the beginning of June. After the summer break the season continues with Enset SM-Ralli 31.8.-1.9. September. SM TeijoTalot-ralli in Turku finishes off the 2017 season at the end of September.

The SM(FRC) vehicle classes

Finnish championship titles are awarded separately to drivers, co-drivers and teams and also separately in four-wheel drives and two-wheel drives. There are the following two four-wheel drive vehicle classes and two two-wheel drive vehicle classes in FRC:

SM(FRC)1 or Super4: FIA R5, Super 2000 Rally (2.0 and 1.6T), FIN R4WD (also incl. WRC cars homologated 31.12.2002 or earlier)

SM(FRC)2 or Production4: FIA N, FIA R4 and FIN N4WD

SM(FRC)3 or R2: FIA R1 and FIA R2B cars up to 1600 cc

SM(FRC)4 or Super2: FIA R3 (both R3T and R3D), FIN R2WD and group N up to 2000 cc, Super 1600, and diesel cars in groups N and A

Points are awarded by class to all who finish an event. The teams’ championship is decided as follows: a team can run a maximum of two cars that can be in the same class or different classes. Points are calculated by class – more information about this is available in the FRC Sporting Regulations.

Suomi Cup

Suomi Cup is contested in the same events as the Finnish Rally Championship. Group F cars and V1600 cars, which are becoming increasingly popular with younger drivers, compete in their separate classes.

Class SC5 Group F, up to 3000 cc
Class SC6 V1600

New WRC cars

There is a specific class for new WRC and RRC cars in all FRC events. It is called class 7 and it also accepts FIA homologated RGT cars – and who knows, we might even see a Porsche 911 or Ferrari on the start line! The new class is hoped to attract works teams to do testing in FRC events. Race fuel is allowed also in this class.

In addition, the event organisers can accept additional classes like the Historic rally classes (surely included in all FRC events), B-junior classes and Seniors.

Please see the Finnish Rally Championship Regulations: FRC Regulations 2019

Score top 5

1. Teemu Asunmaa / Jani Salo 139.5 points Alavuden UA (R5)
2. Juha Salo / Topi Luhtinen 133 points Karkkilan UA (R5)
3. Emil Lindholm / Mikael Korhonen 85 points NHD (R5)
4. Jari Ketomaa / Marko Sallinen 79.5 points MikUA ()
5. Kristian Kiviniemi / Enni Mälkönen 66 points ParkUA (R5)

< See all >

Calendar 2020

Rally Location Date
1. Arctic Lapland Rally Rovaniemi      16.-18.1.
2. SM Ralli Mikkeli
Mikkeli 7.-8.2.
3. Itäralli
Joensuu 28.-29.2.
4. SM O.K. Auto-ralli
Kouvola 12.-13.6.
5. SM Ralli
Oulu 4.-5.9.
6. Pohjanmaa SM-Rall     
Seinäjoki 25.-26.9..

Social media