Facebook Twitter Email Pinterest

Raoul Dahlqvist was on a lightning pace despite early setbacks in FRC summer season opener

26.05.2024 / KMS Racing Press

Raoul Dahlqvist competed with KMS Racing in the FRC3 category this weekend at the summer season opener of FRC. The 18-year-old was flying on Saturday, but Friday’s troubles prevented the Finn from reaching the desired results.

The official M-Sport partner in Finland, KMS Racing, competed with 18-year-old Raoul Dahlqvist in the first summer round of the Finnish Rally Championship. The event, held together with the Estonian rally championship in Turku region, was characterized by the mostly tarmac stages of Friday. Dahlqvist, having little prior experience with the surface, was hit by troubles, and dropped down the order.

Come Saturday, Dahlqvist was full of determination to make up the lost time on the gravel stages. Him and co-driver Patric Öhman sent the Ford Fiesta Rally4 flying through the fast and flowing stages, netting the Finn multiple top 3 stage times topping the fine Saturday with a career-first FRC3 category stage win on SS8. Despite this, the duo finished fifth even with the time penalty from fixing the issues.

-It’s a mixed feeling. After a disappointing Friday we managed to find good pace on all the Saturday’s stages, especially the last one. Overall, I’m happy with my pace, but the result was not what we wanted, Dahlqvist said.

KMS Racing continues their competitive season with ERC Royal Rally of Scandinavia in Sweden next in 14th to 16th of June, with a line-up to be confirmed.

SM Mad-Croc Länsirannikon Ralli results in FRC3

1. Joni Korhonen               46:39,1                 Peugeot 208 Rally4

2. Tuukka Kauppinen       +44,3                    Ford Fiesta Rally4

3. Leevi Lassila                  +1:10,0                 Ford Fiesta Rally4

4. Ossi Pohjanharju          +1:48,2                 Ford Fiesta Rally4

5. Raoul Dahlqvist           +1:50,1                Ford Fiesta Rally4 

Photo: Merita Mäkinen

Score top 5

1. Roope Korhonen / Anssi Viinikka 88 points LMM (Rally2)
2. Teemu Asunmaa / Ville Mannisenmäki 75 points AlavUA (Rally2)
3. Benjamin Korhola / Sebastian Virtanen 74 points VihUA (Rally2)
4. Anssi Rytkönen / Mikael Korhonen 65 points KoMoKe (R5)
5. Niclas Grönholm / Kristian Temonen 49 points EMSC (Rally2)

< See all >

Calendar 2024

1) 12.-13.1. SM Auto Sorsa Riihimäki-Ralli, Riihimäki
2) 1.-3.2. 59. Arctic Lapland Rally, Rovaniemi
3) 8.-9.3. SM Tuuri Ralli, Alavus
4) 24.-25.5. SM Mad-Croc Länsirannikon Ralli, Turku
5) 14.-15.6. SM Pohjanmaa Ralli, Seinäjoki
6) 23.-24.8. Future SM-ralli, Lahti
7) 4.-5.10. SM Ralli Kitee, Kitee

Social media