Facebook Twitter Email Pinterest

Lindholm and Korhonen receive FRC-bronze after colourful events

30.09.2019 / Marko Mäkinen

Team GRX’s Emil Lindholm and Mikael Korhonen achieved their goal on the last SM-rally of the season. The twosome rose to the SM1-class bronze medals after colourful events.

Lindholm, who led the competition since Friday, lost his number one position on the third to last special stage when his Volkswagen slid into the ditch and got stuck from it’s undercarriage. The mishap took almost three minutes and the bronze medals were at stake for a while. 

A competitor driving off the road on the second to last special stage put the twosome back in to fifth place, which secured their bronze medals. Lindholm says that was the medal they were going after but they could have gotten it in a different way. 

“After a long straight there was a slippery brake which I probably drove too fast. The car wouldn’t stop and it slid to the ditch. There was lot of viewers but only a few decided to help us out. That’s why we lost lot of time”, Lindholm explains. 

“I’m pretty sure the mistake would have been avoided if I would have brutally turned the car into the inside of the turn and pulled the handbrake to make the car go sideways. In the last stages of the braking I felt a little surreal so I didn’t want to take too much risk and I let the car go on the edge of the ditch and then this happened. There’s no need to over think it, maybe next time I’ll get it”, Lindholm reminds. 

Lindholm says that Friday nights and Saturday morning’s special stages were slippery. 

“I didn’t take any risks, I was driving my own speed. SM-bronze is fine for this season. In the future I need to cut down my own mistakes and that’s what I need to work on. Next year is still open but I believe we’re building the program on the FRC-series. I hope we get to drive few more rallies abroad than we did this year but we will figure that out later”, Lindholm states. 

Overall final results; Mad-Croc SM-Rally Salo-Turku: 
1. Teemu Asunmaa – Jani Salo Skoda 50:34,2
2. Juha Salo – Topi Luhtinen Skoda + 7,2
3. Jari Ketomaa - Henri Arpiainen Ford + 56,5
4. Juhana Raitanen – Marko Salminen Skoda + 2:35,8
5. Emil Lindholm – Mikael Korhonen Volkswagen + 2:36,9 

Overall SM1-class final standings: 
1. Teemu Asunmaa - Jani Salo Skoda 139,5
2. Juha Salo – Topi Luhtinen Skoda 133
3. Emil Lindholm – Mikael Korhonen Volkswagen 82
4. Jari Ketomaa – Henri Arpiainen Ford 79,5
5. Kristian Kiviniemi – Enni Mälkönen Skoda 66

Photo: Merita Mäkinen

Score top 5

1. Roope Korhonen / Anssi Viinikka 88 points LMM (Rally2)
2. Teemu Asunmaa / Ville Mannisenmäki 75 points AlavUA (Rally2)
3. Benjamin Korhola / Sebastian Virtanen 74 points VihUA (Rally2)
4. Anssi Rytkönen / Mikael Korhonen 65 points KoMoKe (R5)
5. Niclas Grönholm / Kristian Temonen 49 points EMSC (Rally2)

< See all >

Calendar 2024

1) 12.-13.1. SM Auto Sorsa Riihimäki-Ralli, Riihimäki
2) 1.-3.2. 59. Arctic Lapland Rally, Rovaniemi
3) 8.-9.3. SM Tuuri Ralli, Alavus
4) 24.-25.5. SM Mad-Croc Länsirannikon Ralli, Turku
5) 14.-15.6. SM Pohjanmaa Ralli, Seinäjoki
6) 23.-24.8. Future SM-ralli, Lahti
7) 4.-5.10. SM Ralli Kitee, Kitee

Social media