Facebook Twitter Email Pinterest

KMS Racing's Daniel Polasek Seeks Experience on Lahti's Swift Stages

10.08.2023 / KMS Racing Press

M-Sport's official partner in Finland, KMS Racing, is gearing up for the upcoming Future SM Rally with Czech talent Daniel Polasek. The Tuusula-based team continues its Finnish Rally Championship season with the 24-year-old Czech driver. Polasek's summer campaign in the championship has kicked off with impressive podium finishes in Seinäjoki and Pohjanmaa. Alongside co-driver Katerina Janovska, Polasek aims for a third consecutive podium on the rapid special stages of Lahti.

"We had a test session on Wednesday, and it felt fantastic to get back behind the wheel after a long break," Polasek shared after the test day.

Following successful tests, the Czech duo is ready for the ten special stages that make up the Lahti rally. Polasek and Janovska will carry number 34 on their car.

"We've got good pace and a great feeling after the tests. We hope to maintain the same speed during the rally in Lahti," Polasek stated.

KMS Racing's team manager, Jussi Kumpumäki, views the Lahti round as a fresh experience on Finland's swift gravel roads. After competing with three cars in Secto Rally Finland last weekend, the team heads to Lahti with podium aspirations.

"We head to Lahti with positive vibes. Daniel already has two podiums from this summer's races, and, of course, we're aiming for another one. Lahti brings new road conditions – fast and well-surfaced tracks. It's like wrapping up the summer season, and in the fall, we have exciting projects and rallies ahead," Kumpumäki revealed.

Future SM Rally will take place in Lahti on August 11-12, alongside Lahti Historic Rally. The competition consists of ten special stages covering a total of 123.14 competitive kilometers. Fans can follow the action through live broadcasts on Moottoriurheilu.tv and live updates on Ralli SM's official website.


Future SM Rally Lahti Schedule*:

Friday, August 11

18:32 SS3 Koukunmaa 2 – 13.78 km

19:10 SS4 Alikylä 2 – 12.20 km

Saturday, August 12

10:37 SS5 Toijala 1 – 14.25 km

11:38 SS6 Porvola 1 – 12.88 km

12:12 SS7 Avus 1 – 10.03 km

12:55 SS8 Neroskulma 1 – 11.42 km

16:31 SS9 Toijala 2 – 14.25 km

17:02 SS10 Porvola 2 – 12.88 km

18:06 SS11 Avus 2 – 10.03 km

18:49 SS12 Neroskulma 2 – 11.42 km

20:28 Finish at Lahden Satama

*Future SM Rally starts from SS3, while Lahti Historic Rally starts from SS1.

Photo: Merita Mäkinen

Score top 5

1. Roope Korhonen / Anssi Viinikka 45 points LMM (Rally2)
2. Mikko Heikkilä / Kristian Temonen 34 points MäntsMK (Rally2)
3. Benjamin Korhola / Sebastian Virtanen 34 points VihUA (Rally2)
4. Anssi Rytkönen / Mikael Korhonen 26 points KoMoKe (R5)
5. Teemu Asunmaa / Ville Mannisenmäki 25 points AlavUA (Rally2)

< See all >

Calendar 2024

1) 12.-13.1. SM Auto Sorsa Riihimäki-Ralli, Riihimäki
2) 1.-3.2. 59. Arctic Lapland Rally, Rovaniemi
3) 8.-9.3. SM Tuuri Ralli, Alavus
4) 24.-25.5. SM Mad-Croc Länsirannikon Ralli, Turku
5) 14.-15.6. SM Pohjanmaa Ralli, Seinäjoki
6) 23.-24.8. SM Ralli Lahti, Lahti
7) 4.-5.10. SM Ralli Kitee, Kitee

Social media